Packet Radio / APRS Status

Home Forums Amateur Radio Activities Packet Radio / APRS Status

This topic contains 12 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Kenneth Ransom Kenneth Ransom 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    David OLIVARES
    David OLIVARES
    Participant

Hi, I’m F4BPP a radioamateur and teacher concerned by many educational projects with ISS.

My Website : http://www.f4bpp.com

I’m very worried by Packet-Radio status because it has been out of order for a month. I have worked with my students since last September to prepare Packet-Radio operations through ISS and i’m very disappointed by current Packet Status.

Does anybody know what is currently happening and when will it be operational again ?

Thanks for all replies.

Micol Ivancic
    Micol Ivancic
    Keymaster

Hello dear David, first of all congratulations for your acitivities, I’m a teacher focused on space too and love very much educational projects concerning ISS.

About packet, many OM are reporting the same. Packet is shut down before EVA and near other events as launch and docking of Cygnus, Dragon, and Soyuz of course. On 6 May there was Space X 17 launch, docked on 7 May. Packet was shut down for the event and I think it remained off, waiting for the crew has time to set it on. Not sure- I suppose so.

David OLIVARES
    David OLIVARES
    Participant

Many thanks Micol. Happy and honoured to read you and I very appreciate your compliment about my educational projects.

As a ARISS member team, when do you you think I can expect the packet system to be turned on again ? Do you have the opportunity to contact the crew to save my one year project with 200 students ? 😉

Micol Ivancic
    Micol Ivancic
    Keymaster